Spring 2011 Cultural Property Law Course

Posted on November 16, 2010

8


Giant Buddha at Leshan

Once in a while, here at CPAL, a little self-promotion is in order.  I try to keep it to a minimum, but I’m kind of excited about this one.

This coming Spring, I will be teaching a Cultural Property Law course at the University of Wisconsin Law School.  Here is the course description:

This course provides an introduction to the body of law regulating and pertaining to cultural property such as ancient artifacts, historical relics, and fine art.  Cultural property law may be criminal or civil, domestic or international, and it may be aimed at regulating the trade in cultural materials or it may protect them only incidentally.  Topics covered include organized crime in the illicit antiquities trade, cultural property protection in times of armed conflict, the disposition of underwater archaeological materials (shipwrecks), repatriation of colonially acquired artifacts, repatriation of Nazi-looted objects, repatriation of Native American remains under NAGPRA, bilateral agreements between source and market nations, and the role that museums and auction houses play in the illicit antiquities trade.   Each student will draft an analytical, scholarly paper on a pertinent topic of their choice.

I am very interested in hearing from anyone who has either taught or taken this course or similar, so that I might keep in touch with them while I develop my curriculum.  If you have, please contact me here.

Thanks, CPAL readers!

