Legal Protection of Archaeological Remains in the Virgin Islands – Redux

Posted on October 1, 2010

2


WIT Shoal, off the coast of St. Thomas

Back in May, I told you about my article, “Legal Protection of Archaeological Remains on Public Property in the U.S. Virgin Islands,” which was published in the Virgin Islands Bar Journal. It was the first in a two-part series on legislation pertaining to heritage sites in the USVI.

Behold my ability to follow through! I amaze even myself.

Part 2 is complete and has been accepted for publication.  This article covers the legislation applicable to sites on private property in the USVI (part 1 was public property). Here are the links, for those of you interested in Caribbean cultural property law (and who isn’t?):

Legal Protection of Archaeological Remains on Private Property in the US Virgin Islands.

Legal Protection of Archaeological Remains on Public Property in the US Virgin Islands (in case you missed it the first time).

