Norway to Apply for World Heritage Status for Svalbard

Posted on April 17, 2009

1


images5A few years ago I found myself in Iceland partying it up with some locals I had met in Marrakech two years prior.  Let me tell you those Reykjavik folk can sure do a night on town right.  In any case, that night was the first I ever heard of Svalbard (via the drunken ramblings of one of my local friends), and I’ve been fascinated ever since.

For those of you who are unilluminated as I was, Svalbard is an expansive and remote archipelago north of Europe.  As I understand it, the islands are governed by Norway.  It is rumored that there are more polar bears than people on its 23,000 square miles, although there are only 2,000 people says Wikipedia.  If you do a Google image search for Svalbard, you will see some amazing photos.

In any case, Norway is going to try and get Svalbard onto the UNESCO World Heritage list.  The application for nomination will take several years to complete, and if all goes will it will become Norway’s eighth world heritage site in 2014.

Posted in: Archaeology Law